Skip to content

Follow us!


Get in touch with us

Various Artists - Living In The Streets 3: Busting Out Of The Ghetto [2LP]

$25.00 $39.00
Unit price  per 


1. Bustin' Outta the Ghetto - Carlos Malcolm
2. I'm a Good Woman - The Generation
3. (Oh Baby) I Do Believe I'm Losing You - Billy Hawks
4. Dance Girl - The Mighty Tom Cats
5. You Gotta Believe - Fatback
6. Soul Makossa - The Mighty Tom Cats
7. Vicious Rap - Tanya Whitley
8. Mary Jane - Bobby Rush
9. The Truth Shall Make You Free - King Hannibal
10. Peace, Love Not War - Johnny King and The Fatback Band
11. Starvin' - Winfield Parker
12. He Called Me Baby - Spanky Wilson
13. Seeds of Life - East L.A. Car Pool
14. Viva! (Viva Tirado) - Jade
15. I've Known Rivers - Gary Bartz
16. I'm Wishin' - Lorez Alexandria
17. Feeling Good - Pat Bowie with Charles McPherson

There were good times and bad and new hope was finally crushed by the economics of the 70s. This volume explores the music of black urban America in a 12 year period from the mid 60s. It stretches from the gritty sophistication of soul jazz small groups, through street funk and into the first flowerings of a new culture, called hip hop, that would define the next phase of black music. This period was the last time that the mainstream American music industry would allow the independent labels to dictate the way. After this the majors would control distribution and any label that looked like it meant business would be swallowed up.

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.