Skip to content

Follow us!


Get in touch with us

Sigur Ros - Von [2LP]

Unit price  per 


A1 Sigur Rós 
A2 Dögun 
A3 Hún Jörð ... 
B1 Leit Að Lífi 
B2 Myrkur 
B3 18 Sekúndur Fyrir Sólarupprás 
B4 Hafssól 

C1 Veröld Ný Og Óð 
C2 Von 
C3 Mistur 
D1 Syndir Guðs (Opinberun Frelsarans) 
D2 Rukrym

Von (Icelandic pronunciation: Hope) is the debut album of Icelandic post-rock band Sigur Rós.

The production of the album took a long time, and the end result sounded significantly different from the original recordings. The band considered scrapping the final result and starting all over again, but decided not to because it would have made the process too long. In exchange for recording time, Sigur Rós painted the studio they recorded in.

Von was originally released in Iceland to moderate critical acclaim, but went relatively unnoticed abroad. In the first year following the release, Von sold only 313 copies in Iceland. Following the band's popular international releases, Ágætis byrjun and ( ), it was re-released in the United Kingdom in September 2004, and in the United States a month later. In December 2005, Von and Ágætis byrjun were declared platinum albums in Iceland, signifying domestic sales of over 5,000.

The sixth track consists of 18 seconds of silence, and gave name to Sigur Rós's official website, 'eighteen seconds before sunrise'. The last track starts with six minutes and fifteen seconds of silence, then consists of a portion of "Myrkur" played backwards, hence the name of "Rukrym."

The cover depicts Jónsi's sister Inga Birgisdóttir as a baby.

The tracks "Hafssól" and "Von" were later re-recorded with very different arrangements, the former released as a B-side to the Hoppípolla single and both appearing on 2007's Hvarf/Heim.

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.