Skip to content

Follow us!


Get in touch with us

Postal Service - Give Up [Vinyl LP]

Unit price  per 
You can spend all the time and money in the world trying to craft the perfect pop-music scenario, but sometimes the stars have to align all by themselves. Even though early on the members of The Postal Service jokingly referred to “Such Great Heights” as “the hit” on their debut album, Give Up, there’s no way anyone could have predicted the eventual impact made by a mail-order album designed in a pair of West Coast bedrooms.

It’s been over 10 years since the little project that could from Seattelite Ben Gibbard (aka Death Cab For Cutie’s frontman) and Angeleno Jimmy Tamborello (Dntel, Figurine) emerged from seemingly nowhere and began to burrow into the ears of anyone who came into contact with the band’s infectious electro-pop. Of course, the band’s music was more than just electro-pop, and the force with which Jimmy and Ben captured the indie-rock zeitgeist of the early aughts made them more of a phenomenon than just a regular old band. 

That such artists as Ben Folds, Amanda Palmer, Streetlight Manifesto, and Confide have covered “Such Great Heights” is a testament to both the song’s magical spark and its melodic inclusivity. The band’s sound is such a touchstone that “Postal Service-esque” has become a generally accepted musical adjective. While it was impossible to anticipate how massive Give Up would become, it was obvious in 2003 that these guys had made something special.

The Postal Service Give Up Track Listing:

1.  The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
2.  Such Great Heights
3.  Sleeping In
4.  Nothing Better
5.  Recycled Air
6.  Clark Gable
7.  We Will Become Silhouettes
8.  This Place Is A Prison
9.  Brand New Colony
10. Natural Anthem
This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.