Skip to content

Follow us!


Get in touch with us

The Liberators - The Liberators [LP]

Unit price  per 


1. Multiculture 05:03 
2. Bulletproof 03:28 
3. Rags To Riches 04:38 
4. Let It Go feat. Roxie Ray 04:15 
5. Self Reliance 03:05 
6. Denga feat. Jojo Kuo 05:23 
7. Monkeyface 04:56 
8. Liberation feat. Afro Moses 05:44 
9. The Directive 03:25 
10. Deleb 04:00

Sydney-based new afro-funk formation THE LIBERATORS can certainly be said to be off to a smoldering start; with their debut gig taking place at Russ Dewbury’s famous A Night At The Jazz Rooms, the liner notes of their debut album being written by Antibalas frontman Amayo (Daptone Records / Ropeadope / Afrosound Records), and the patronage of DJs such as Gilles Peterson (BBC 1), this group can count on some serious support! Not only does this 10 piece outfit include members of Dojo Cuts among its division, but for their first full-length they also call on the vocal talents of guests such as Jojo Kuo (Fela Kuti / Daktaris / Antibalas), Roxie Ray (Dojo Cuts / Underbelly) and Ghanaian-born Afro Moses. The result is an incredible set of new afrobeat tunes and funky jazz-dance grooves proving the masterful musicianship of this band. 

The self-titled debut effort by The Liberators is a solid example of the type of new afro-inspired funk that is rivaling the greatness of classics from 70s Africa. With a fierce array of super heavy guitars, percussion, and horns – all put together with a range of sounds that really portray the full spectrum of their style – The Liberators serve up some sizzling treats! From opening stormer “Multiculture”, to the kicking rhythm of “Rags To Riches”, the uplifting “Liberation” or the jazzy inflections of “Denga” featuring legendary drummer JoJo Kuo on vocals, this album is a tightly delivered assortment of funky afrobeat tunes with a jazz-dance flavor. Turn on your air-conditioning people, the heat is on!

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.