Skip to content

Follow us!


Get in touch with us

JariBu Afrobeat Arkestra - JariBu [2LP]

$28.00 $36.00
Unit price  per 


A1 Devil Pts.1&2 09:24
A2 One By One 06:17
B1 Kew 04:02
B2 Afro Rodeo 05:41
B3 Witness 08:09

C1 Unrevealed Truth 08:34
C2 Wild Pansey 04:45
C3 Yellow Joint 05:01
D1 Dancers In The Darkness 09:33
D2 Bomb 05:51

*Limited to 500 hand-numbered copys, including Download code.

This guitar player definitely wears acoustic blinders. Single note lines and riffs similar to early James Brown recordings, executed with amazing perfection - one can't imagine a more stoic performance, especially considering what's happening at the same time:

Blazing horns in unison and a slightly awry choir come together, work in opposite directions, completing a true rhythmically woven carpet with the tight rhythm section's network: multi-layered, close-knitted and nearly impenetrable. You can't escape from those tunes! Arms, legs and hips have to follow the pulse: one moment light-footed, the next heavy and uncompromising, fitting the distinct messages, criticizing worldwide social absurdities (JariBu).

The eight Japanese Musicians led by Masamichi Ishikawa play more Funk and Jazz than the Nigerian Afrobeat originals Fela Kuti and Tony Allen did: a swift flute, a blazing trumpet playing and extensive solos from the very beginning - just check out the opener, it runs more than nine minutes! Occasionally there's a nasty fuzz guitar which reminds one of the 1970ies, accompanied by tape hiss and amp noise. You've gotta love it!

Since 2009 there have been four long players by JariBu Afrobeat Arkestra. However the new JariBu is, similar to Mediacracy (Tramp Records 2012) the Tokyoites' second Record, distributed internationally. But they have been more than well received in the past few years - the Japanese Afrobeat word has been spread in the past and will be spread even more in the future!

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.