Skip to content

Follow us!


Get in touch with us

Iron and Wine - The Creek That Drank The Cradle [Vinyl LP]

Unit price  per 

Iron and Wine's debut record, The Creek That Drank the Cradle, is written, produced, and performed by Sam Beam and features only Beam's voice, a gently strummed acoustic guitar, some slide guitar, and the occasional banjo. Iron and Wine creates intimate and emotional songs, recorded bedroom-style but never letting the lo-fi get in the way of the tune.

Beam isn't interested in rocking out or obscuring the beauty that bursts from within his simple songs; he embraces it and lets his sadness twist in the wind for all to see. Besides, his vocal harmonies are more soft rock than punk rock. 'Lion's Mane' opens the record and immediately takes your breath away as Beam's voice is so beautiful and his hooks are razor sharp. Every song that follows is just as memorable, Beam sounding positively angelic as he harmonizes with himself. 'The Rooster Moans' is a chilling side trip into Appalachian folk; 'Southern Anthem' a falsetto-led indie-gospel track with an absolutely soaring chorus. The simple musical backing never gets boring either, as there are musical hooks to match the vocal hooks — the banjo in 'Lion's Mane,' the double-tracked repeating slide at the end of 'Faded from the Winter,' the gently chugging rhythm of 'Upward Over the Mountain.' As soon as the almost jaunty, Neil Young-esque album closer, 'Muddy Hymnal,' ends, you'll want to hit repeat and start again. The Creek Drank the Cradle is a stunning debut and one of the best records of 2002.

Iron and Wine The Creek That Drank the Cradle Track Listing:

1. Lion's Mane      
2. Bird Stealing Bread      
3. Faded From The Winter      
4. Promising Light      
5. The Rooster Moans      
6. Upward Over The Mountain      
7. Southern Anthem      
8. An Angry Blade      
9. Weary Memory      
10. Promise What You Will      
11. Muddy Hymnal     

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.