Skip to content

Follow us!


Get in touch with us

Iron and Wine - Archive Series Volume 5: Tallahassee Recordings [Vinyl LP]

Unit price  per 

Sub Pop presents Archive Series Volume No. 5: Tallahassee the lost-in-time debut album from Iron & Wine. The collection was recorded over a two-year (1998-99) window during which Iron & Wine's Sam Beam attended Florida State University's College of Motion Picture Arts. Three years later, Iron & Wine would issue The Creek Drank the Cradle and begin a run of records widely praised as being part of a new blueprint in the singer-songwriter genre. Tallahassee doesn't attempt to re-write history but instead aims to document the very first steps in Beam's journey to becoming one of America's most original and distinctive artists.

The eleven-song collection was culled from a number of recordings that had been (mostly) forgotten by Beam himself but had been preserved by former roommate and one-time Iron & Wine member, EJ Holowicki. Holowicki, who went on to work as a sound designer at Skywalker Sound, was a catalyst in making sure Beam documented these songs while the two were roommates in a house on St. Augustine St. near campus. In addition to serving as both engineer and bassist, Holowicki also worked as an archival producer in preparing the tracks for official release.

Tallahassee, with its sparse instrumental canvas and live-in one-room takes, is very much akin to early Iron & Wine releases, The Creek Drank the Cradle, The Sea & The Rhythm, and In the Reins. From the wandering country-esque tempo of "Calm on the Valley" to the more mid-tempo Harvest-era vibe of "This Solemn Day," the seeds of the portrait of an artist as a young man are all present. While still in their formative stages, the lyrical imagery and intimate musical nature that have become trademarks of the Iron & Wine "sound" are present throughout Tallahassee.

Early music file-sharers have long claimed ownership of a number of early Iron & Wine recordings, many that still have yet to be officially released. While this record will not quite correct all the wrongs of the early days of the internet, it will fill in many of the blanks for long-time fans.

  1. Why Hate the Winter
  2. This Solemn Day
  3. Loaning Me Secrets
  4. John's Glass Eye
  5. Calm on the Valley
  6. Ex-Lover Lucy Jones
  7. Elizabeth
  8. Show Him the Ground
  9. Straight and Tall
  10. Cold Town
  11. Valentine
This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.