In stock
Out Stock

Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie XX - We're New Here [LP]


Shopify secure Paypal Visa Mastercard American express Mcafee secure


A1 I'm New Here 3:27
A2 Home 3:11
A3 I've Been Me [Interlude] 0:28
A4 Running 3:32
A5 My Cloud 4:27
A6 Certain Things [Interlude] 0:10
A7 The Crutch 3:10
B1 Ur Soul And Mine 4:18
B2 Parents [Interlude] 0:29
B3 Piano Player 1:16
B4 NY Is Killing Me 5:44
B5 Jazz [Interlude] 0:50
B6 I'll Take Care Of U 4:43

We're New Here is a remix album by American recording artist Gil Scott-Heron and English music producer Jamie xx, released on February 21, 2011, by Young Turks and XL Recordings. A longtime fan of Scott-Heron, Jamie xx was approached by XL label head Richard Russell to remix Scott-Heron's 2010 studio album I'm New Here. He worked on the album while touring with his band The xx in 2010 and occasionally communicated with Scott-Heron through letters for his approval to rework certain material.

Incorporating dubstep and UK garage styles, Jamie xx applied electronic music techniques in his production to remix Scott-Heron's vocals from the original album over his own instrumentals. Although it is structured similarly, We're New Here eschews the original album's stark style and lo-fi production for bass-driven, musically varied production and sonical illumination of Scott-Heron's vocals. It has been noted by music writers for recontextualizing Scott-Heron's narratives in Jamie xx's own musical influences and tastes.

Although it did not chart in the United States, the album debuted at number 33 on the UK Albums Chart, on which it spent two weeks. It was promoted with a multi-format release, including a limited edition box set, and the release of two singles, "NY Is Killing Me" and "I'll Take Care of U". We're New Here received universal acclaim from critics upon its release.

This is a standard cookie notice which you can easily adapt or disable as you like in the admin. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.