Pelican - The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw [2LP]

$49.00 Sale
- +


A1 Last Day Of Winter 9:36
A2 Autumn Into Summer 10:44

B1 March Into The Sea 11:37
B2 . 4:43

C1 Red Ran Amber 11:20

D1 Aurora Borealis 4:55
D2 Sirius 5:47

The Fire in Our Throats Will Beckon the Thaw is the second full-length studio album by Chicago post-metal band Pelican. It was released May 22, 2005 on Hydra Head Records. Regarding the lengthy and unusual name of the album, guitarist Trevor de Brauw joked, "The title is meant to confuse people. The original title was going to be Black Doom on Tuesday."

According to de Brauw, various influences came into making the album, including early industrial, hardcore, other metal influences, and has also noted the high quality of the studio and exceptional amount of time the group had to finish the album compared to that of their previous effort, Australasia. As the band is very environmentally conscious, The Fire... has a nature-driven theme with song titles such as "Last Day of Winter," "Autumn into Summer," and "Aurora Borealis." It also marks the introduction of acoustic guitar to Pelican's catalog of full-length albums.

"March to the Sea" found substantial airplay on the satellite radio station Hard Attack. An extended version of the track, entitled "March into the Sea," was released on the group's similarly titled EP only a few months prior. This version has a less refined sound and runs nearly twice as long at 20:28. De Brauw considers the EP version a "teaser single before the record came out, as well as a collector's item for completionists."

Pelican - The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw [2LP]

Pelican - The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw [2LP]
- +

Search our site

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.